2022 AWCON: Black Queens draw Nigeria in first round of qualifiers

The Black Queens of Ghana will face arch-rivals Nigeria in the first round of the qualifying series for the 2022 Total Women’s Africa Cup of Nations tournament in Morocco.

The two African Women’s football giants were paired against each other following the draw at the CAF Headquarters in Cairo, Egypt, on Monday.

A record number of 45 member associations are set to take part in the qualifiers.

With the qualifying series divided into zones, one of Nigeria or Ghana, who are both housed in WAFU Zone B, will miss out in the tournament next year.

Both have traditionally participated in each of the CAF Women’s AFCON tournaments since the inaugural edition in 1991.

Nigeria are the defending champions while Ghana hosted the tournament in 2018.

The winner of the first-round tie between Nigeria and Ghana will face Niger or Cote d’Ivoire in the second round.

Morocco, who are the host country has automatically qualified and as a result, 44 countries will take part in the qualifiers.

This will be the first edition under the format of 12 teams.

The qualifying series will start during the international window of June 2021 and end before the final tournament in Morocco scheduled from July 2 to 23, 2022.

The Total Women’s AFCON is also a qualifier for the FIFA Women’s World Cup Australia-New Zealand 2023.

Find the full draw below:

First round


M1 – Uganda v Ethiopia

M2 – Kenya v South Sudan

M3 – Eritrea v Burundi

M4 – Djibouti v Rwanda

M5 – Malawi v Zambia

M6 – Tanzania v Namibia

M7 – Zimbabwe v Eswatini

M8 – Angola v Botswana

M9 – Mozambique v South Africa

M10 – Algeria v Sudan

M11 – Egypt v Tunisia

M12 – Equatorial Guinea v DR Congo

M13 – Sao Tome and Principe v Togo

M14 – Congo v Gabon

M15 – Central African Republic v Cameroon

M16 – Sierra Leone v Gambia

M17 – Liberia v Senegal

M18 – Mali v Guinea

M19 – Guinea Bissau v Mauritania

M20 – Burkina Faso v Benin

M21 – Nigeria v Ghana

M22 – Niger v Cote d’Ivoire


Second Round

Winner M1 v Winner M2

Winner M3 v Winner M4

Winner M5 v Winner M6

Winner M7 v Winner M8

Winner M9 v Winner M10

Winner M11 v Winner M12

Winner M13 v Winner M14

Winner M15 v Winner M16

Winner M17 v Winner M18

Winner M19 v Winner M20

Winner M21 v Winner M22


Aggregate winners qualify to join hosts Morocco in the final tournament.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.