Akufo-Addo nominates four new Supreme Court judges

Source The Ghana Report

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has nominated four new justices to the Supreme Court.

The list comprises three justices of the Court of Appeal and a justice of the High Court.

The nominees from the Court of Appeal are Justice Barbara Frances Ackah-Yensu, Justice George Kingsley Koomson, and Justice Samuel Kwame Adibu Asiedu.

Justice Ernest Yao Gaewu is the only nominee from the High Court.

The Speaker of Parliament, Alban Bagbin, made this known Tuesday morning, following a letter sent to him by the President.

“Upon receipt of the judicial council’s advice and in accordance with Article 144 (2) of the 1992 Constitution, I consulted with the Council of State after submitting the names and curriculum vitae of the nominees for appointment to the court.

“The Council of State has by letter, dated 25 July 2022, notified me of the successful completion of the consultation process. I am, therefore, in accordance with Article 144 (2) seeking the approval of Parliament for the appointment of nominees as Justice of the Supreme Court.

“Their curriculum vitae are hereby attached. I am fully satisfied that each of these persons is duly qualified and eminently fit to discharge the functions of a Justice of the Supreme Court. It is my respectful hope and expectation that the approval of the nominees will proceed expeditiously to enable them assume office as soon as practicable,” he read.

The nominees have since been referred to Parliament’s Appointments Committee for consideration.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.