Akufo-Addo nominates three new judges to Supreme Court

Source The Ghana Report/Sefanam Agbobli

President Akufo-Addo has appointed three new judges to the Supreme Court subject to parliamentary approval.

The three; Justice Mariama Owusu, Justice Lovelace Johnson and Justice Gertrude Tokornoo, have been elevated from the court of appeal to the apex court bench.

Speaker of Parliament, Prof. Mike Aaron Ocquaye made the announcement in Parliament today, Tuesday, November 12, 2019.

The three will replace three other Justices namely; Justice Vida Akoto-Bamfo, Justice Sophia Adinyira and Chief Justice Sophia Akuffo who are on retirement or are due for retirement.

Sophia A.B Akuffo who is currently Ghana’s Chief Justice will retire on December 20, 2019.

Per Article 144 clause 1 of the 1992 Constitution, the President appoints a Justice of the Supreme Court as Chief Justice in consultation with the Council of State and with the approval of Parliament.
Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You might also like