Censure motion: Our side didn’t take sitting allowances – Ablakwa

Source The Ghana Report

Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa, a member of the ad-hoc committee that probed the censure motion against Finance Minister Ken Ofori-Atta, has refuted claims that the Minority side demanded sitting allowances.

The Member of Parliament(MP) for North Tongu said the allegations are false and should be disregarded.

In a Twitter post on Wednesday, December 8, Mr Ablakwa said the Minority MPs who sat on the committee “served pro bono.”

He added that they did their duty as patriotic citizens of the country.

“It’s been a patriotic duty. Ignore baseless claims that our side took sitting allowances; we served pro bono,” he tweeted.

The MP added that the Minority is anticipating the debate of the committee’s report when the motion is raised on the floor of Parliament.

“Parliament is expected later today to consider the report of the Ken Ofori-Atta Vote of Censure Committee. We anticipate a full-blown debate and the long-awaited vote.”

Meanwhile, Parliament is set to debate the censure motion filed by the Minority Caucus against the Finance Minister, Ken Ofori-Atta, today, December 8, 2022.

The committee’s report was tabled to be debated in the House on Wednesday, but the House was notified that the debate would commence Thursday.

As part of the procedure, the Minority members, particularly the proponents of the motion, will pitch their arguments against those from the Majority on whether there are still grounds for the House to vote out the Finance Minister from office.


The Speaker of Parliament, Alban Bagbin, referred the vote of a censure motion against Finance Minister Ken Ofori Atta to an ad hoc committee of Parliament.

The committee, composed of eight members, with four from each side of the House, was expected to submit its report for consideration within seven days.

NDC Member of Parliament for Bolgatanga East, Dominic Ayine and NPP MP for Adansi-Asokwa KT Hammond co-chaired the committee.

The other members from the Minority side included Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa, MP for North Tongu; Zanetor Agyemang-Rawlings, MP for Korle Klottey; and Bernard Ahiafor, MP for Akatsi South.

The Majority side consisted of Patrick Yaw Boamah, MP for Okaikwei Central; Michael Kwame Anyimadu-Antwi, MP for Asante-Akim Central; and Andrew Kofi Agyapa Mercer, MP for Sekondi.

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You might also like
where to buy viagra buy generic 100mg viagra online
buy amoxicillin online can you buy amoxicillin over the counter
buy ivermectin online buy ivermectin for humans
viagra before and after photos how long does viagra last
buy viagra online where can i buy viagra