CPP picks Greenstreet again for 2020 presidential election

The Convention People’s Party (CPP) has re-elected its 2016 Presidential Candidate, Mr. Ivor Kobina Greenstreet, to lead the Party into the 2020 presidential election.

Mr. Greenstreet, a lawyer, beat two others; Mr. Bright Akwetey and Mr. Divine Ayivor, with 1,364 votes at the Party’s National Congress to become CPP’s 2020 Flagbearer.

Mr. Bright Akwetey and Mr. Divine Ayivor had 597 and 171 votes respectively.

Nana Akosua Frimpomaa Sarpong Kumankuma won the position of the Party’s National Chairman with Mr. Onsy Kwame Nkrumah winning that of Vice Chairman.

Others were, Mr. Osei Kofi Acquah, Youth Organiser, Hajia Ayesha Sulley Futa, Women Organiser, Mr. Moses Yirimambo Ambing, National Organiser and Mr. Emmanuel Opare Addo-National Treasurer.

Nana Yaa Jantua won the position of General Secretary.

Mr.Kwame Anaman, Congress Committee Administrator, told the Ghana News Agency that the vote was cast by 2,154 delegates but said, the number of spoilt ballots was not readily available.

The Party decentralised this year’s congress was held at the various regional centres as part of measures to prevent the spread of COVID19.

Results from CPP National Delegates Congress – 2020


Bright Akwetey -27
Dr Divine Ayivor -14
Ivor Kobina Greenstreet -213

National Executives

National Chairman

Hajia Hamdatu -73
Nana Bright Oduro -68
Kwaku Ankrah Quansah-9
Nana Akosua Frimpomaa Kumakuma-100
Rejected -5

National Vice Chairman

Onsy Kwame Nkrumah -84
Emmanuel Ogbojor -125
John Benjamin Davids-39
Rejected -7

General Secretary

Nana Yaa Akyimpim Jantuah -187
James Kabila Kwabena Bomfeh -67
Rejected -1

National Women’s Organiser

Hajia Aisha Sulley -129
Rose Austin Tenadu -122
Rejected -4

National Organiser

Moses Ambing Yirimbo -179
Rashid Alao -76

National Youth Organiser

Osei Kofi Aquah -168
Solomon Duncan -80
Rejected -6


Emmanuel Opare Oduro -169
Edwina Okuadjo Ayorkor -79
Rejected -7

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.