Kulendi, Honyenuga, one other appointed to Supreme Court

A Managing Partner of the respected law firm, Kulendi@Law, Yoni Kulendi, has been nominated to serve as a Supreme Court judge.

A source at the judicial service told theghanareport.com that President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo pencilled the lawyer and two Court of Appeal judges; Justice Clemence  J. Honyenuga and Issifu Omoro Tanko Amadu. 

Although Mr Kulendi has never been on the bench, the 1992 Constitution allows a lawyer who has served for at least 15 years at the bar to be appointed as a Supreme Court judge.

The nominations are, however, subject to parliamentary approval.

When endorsed by the legislators, the three nominees will replace Justices Julius Ansah, Nasiru Sulemana Gbadegbe and Anthony Alfred Bennin, who are due for retirement this year.

Apply laws without fear or favour – Akufo-Addo to new Supreme Court Justices


Justice Honyenuga wears two hats. When he is not ‘giving orders’ and interpreting the constitution as a judge, he adjudicates cases as the Paramount Chief of the Nyagbo Traditional Area in the Volta Region.

Justice  Honyenuga, who is known by his chieftaincy title as Torgbui Ashu Nyagasi, recently caused a stir when President Akufo-Addo  visited the  Nyagbo Traditional Area.

In a subtle endorsement of the President for a second term, he said, “With the vision of the President and the gains made in his first term, Ghanaians may consider giving him another four years”.

The opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) found it “regrettable” and “unacceptable”. A statement signed by the Regional Chairman, Henry Kwadzo Ametefe, called for sanctions, but the General Legal Council is yet to take any action.

Ghana’s constitution bars chiefs from playing active roles in politics but they allowed to take political appointments.

The nomination of the three legal brains to the apex court is the second of such appointments to the Supreme Court in the last four months.

Parliament approves Supreme Court nominees

President Akufo-Addo swore into office the first batch on Tuesday, December 17, 2019. The batch was an all-female appointment, namely Justices Mariama Owusu, Avril Lovelace-Johnson and Justice Gertrude Araba Esaaba Torkornoo.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.