Mason Mount voted Chelsea Player of the Season

Mason Mount has been chosen by fans as the winner of the 2020/21 Chelsea men’s team Player of the Year award.

He will be presented with the trophy prior to kick-off at Stamford Bridge this evening as Blues fans return to the stadium for the first time since December. Supporters were asked to pick their outstanding individual of the past nine months in an online vote and Mount was the clear victor, receiving the vast majority of votes cast.

Mount has been a key figure under both Frank Lampard and Thomas Tuchel this term, playing more matches and more minutes than any other Blues player across all competitions to date. The midfielder’s attacking output has also improved upon his maiden campaign in the senior side last term, with nine goals and seven assists putting him behind only Timo Werner in the tally of goal contributions.

Whether in a 3-4-3 or 4-3-3, operating in central midfield or as one of the attacking forwards, Mount’s energy, enthusiasm and use of the ball has been exemplary, as has his physical condition to be available for selection so often during such a grueling season.

The 22-year-old started our first seven games of 2020/21 and netted the first of our goals at the Hawthorns in September as we came from 3-0 down to salvage a point.

His performances throughout a relentless autumn and winter schedule set the tone for the Blues, a willingness to press with intelligence and intensity from the front combined with clever use of the ball in possession. Quick, progressive play helped initiate attacks and create chances as he claimed assists against Barnsley, Burnley, Leeds and West Ham before Christmas.

In the Champions League, Mount provided a delicious pass for Callum Hudson-Odoi to score away at Rennes in November before netting his first European goal in the quarter-finals against Porto, becoming the youngest Chelsea player to score in the Champions League knockout round.

Earlier this month, it was the England international’s late effort that secured victory against Real Madrid and made safe our place in the final.

On his 22nd birthday in January, he scored the opener in our FA Cup victory against Morecambe and then followed that with a late Premier League winner at Fulham six days after. Later that month, the Academy graduate captained his boyhood club for the first time in our 3-1 FA Cup win over Luton Town.

Since Tuchel’s arrival, Mount has taken his game to even greater heights, often playing as one of the inside forwards behind a central striker but with the licence to interchange and roam freely. He has six goals under the German, including a memorable winner at Anfield back in March, and will be hoping to add team glory to this individual accolade when we play the Champions League final a week on Saturday.


Chelsea Player of the Year winners

1967 – Peter Bonetti

1968 – Charlie Cooke

1969 – David Webb

1970 – John Hollins

1971 – John Hollins

1972 – David Webb

1973 – Peter Osgood

1974 – Gary Locke

1975 – Charlie Cooke

1976 – Ray Wilkins

1977 – Ray Wilkins

1978 – Micky Droy

1979 – Tommy Langley

1980 – Clive Walker

1981 – Petar Borota

1982 – Mike Fillery

1983 – Joey Jones

1984 – Pat Nevin

1985 – David Speedie

1986 – Eddie Niedzwiecki

1987 – Pat Nevin

1988 – Tony Dorigo

1989 – Graham Roberts

1990 – Ken Monkou

1991 – Andy Townsend

1992 – Paul Elliott

1993 – Frank Sinclair

1994 – Steve Clarke

1995 – Erland Johnsen

1996 – Ruud Gullit

1997 – Mark Hughes

1998 – Dennis Wise

1999 – Gianfranco Zola

2000 – Dennis Wise

2001 – John Terry

2002 – Carlo Cudicini

2003 – Gianfranco Zola

2004 – Frank Lampard

2005 – Frank Lampard

2006 – John Terry

2007 – Michael Essien

2008 – Joe Cole

2009 – Frank Lampard

2010 – Didier Drogba

2011 – Petr Cech

2012 – Juan Mata

2013 – Juan Mata

2014 – Eden Hazard

2015 – Eden Hazard

2016 – Willian

2017 – Eden Hazard

2018 – N’Golo Kante

2019 – Eden Hazard

2020 – Mateo Kovacic

2021 – Mason Mount

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You might also like