New faces dominate Akufo-Addo’s 39 deputy ministerial nominations

President Akufo-Addo has nominated 39 deputy ministers pending approval from parliament.

At the same time, former Deputy Minister of Finance, Charles Adu-Boahen has been elevated to Minister of State at the Ministry of Finance.

This was contained in a release signed by the Acting Director of Communications at the Office of the President, Eugene Arhin.

It is a confirmation of theghanareport.com’s earlier publication on who’s in and who’s out?

A total of 28 persons in the list are new ministerial appointees dominated by first-time legislators.

Article 78 of Ghana’s 1992 constitution allows the President to appoint the majority of his ministers from parliament.

The massive entry of new MPs in the just ended 2020 parliament elections has contributed to the 28 new faces found on the list.

Some former deputy ministers have been re-appointed while others assigned to different ministries.

Only five women made it to the 28 new faces which follow the trend of low female representation in parliament and ministerial roles.

READ ALSO: SPECIAL REPORT: Only 5.8% Of All 1,610 MPs Elected Since 1992 Are Women

They are Mavis Nkansah-Boadu, Lariba Zuweira Abudu, Diana Asonaba Dapaah, Ama Pomah, and Fatimatu Abubakar.

Hassan Tampuli, the immediate past Chief Executive of the National Petroleum Authority and now MP for Gushegu,  has been named as a deputy minister-nominee for Transport.

Former CEO of the National Entrepreneurship and Innovation Programme (NEIP) John Kumah has been nominated as a deputy Minister for Finance.

MP for Sekondi, Andrew Egypa Mercer, has also been nominated as a deputy minister for the Energy Ministry.

Private legal practitioner and presidential staffer, Fatimatu Abubakar, was a member of President Akufo-Addo’s legal team during the 2020 election petition.

The young lawyer gained a lot of admirers after her address in Twi during one of the press conferences after court proceedings.

She has been nominated as deputy information minister.

Popular music producer and entertainment pundit, Mark Okraku Mantey, has also been nominated to deputize Mohammed Awal at the Tourism Ministry.

Assin South MP  John Ntim Fordjour has been nominated as a deputy minister at the Education Ministry together with Abuakwa North MP, Gifty Twum Ampofo.

MP for Pru West Stephen Jalulah and MP for Afigya-Sekyere East Mavis Nkansah Boadu will both deputize Kwasi Amako-Atta at the Ministry for Roads and Highways.

MP for Asunafo North Evans Opoku Bobie has been nominated as deputy Minister for Youth and Sports, while Vice President of the Ghana Alternative Dispute Resolution Hub Diana Asonaba Dapaah heads to the Ministry of Justice and Attorney General.

Ms. Dapaah and Alfred Tuah-Deborah are expected to assist Minister of Justice Godfred Yeboah-Dame.

MP for Tarkwa Nsuaem, George Mireku Duker, will deputize Samuel Abu Jinapor at the Ministry of Lands and Forestry.

The full list of appointees is below:

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.