Prize money breakdown of the 2022 World Cup

The World Cup 2022 will have a $440 million overall prize pool, according to Fifa.

On December 18, 64 games will be played in total to determine the winners. This tournament will be the final one with 32 teams. There will be 48 teams competing in the 2026 World Cup, which will be hosted in the United States, Mexico, and Canada.

The 2018 tournament in Russia attracted 3.572 billion viewers worldwide, about half of the world’s population. A total of 1.12 billion people watched the final between France and Croatia, according to Fifa.

The prize money breakdown:

Champions: $42 million

Runners-up: $30 million

Third place: $27 million

Fourth place: $25 million

Fifth-eighth place: $68 million ($17 million per team)

Ninth-16th place: $104 million ($13 million per team)

17th-32nd place: $144 million ($9 million per team)

Each qualified team will also receive $1.5 million in advance of the competition to help with preparation expenses. Winners in the 2018 competition, France, received a $38 million payment.

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You might also like