21 Akufo-Addo ministers suffer losses in 2020 parliamentary elections

At least 21 ministers and deputy ministers in the Akufo-Addo administration have lost their bid to become or to remain Members of Parliament.

The pack includes eighteen incumbent MPs, five of whom are ministers, and fourteen are deputy ministers.

The tsunami of political losses swept through President Akufo-Addo’s 124-member executive, criticized as the largest ever in Ghana’s history.


NAME              MINISTRY                      CONSTITUENCY
Derek Oduro  Deputy Minister for Defence  Nkoranza North Region
Joseph Dindiok Kpemka Deputy Attorney General Minister Tempane
George Andah Deputy Minister of Communication Awutu Senya West
Barbara Ayisi Deputy Minister of Works and Housing Cape Coast North
Boniface Abubakar Saddiq Minister of State in the Office of the Vice President Madina
Paul Essien Deputy Minister Chieftaincy Jomoro
Elizabeth Afoley Quaye Minister for Fisheries and Aquaculture Krowor constituency
Bernard Okoe-Boye Deputy Minister of Health Ledzokuku
Titus Glover Deputy Minister of Transport Tema East constituency
Barbara Oteng Gyasi Deputy Minister for Lands and Natural Resources Prestea Huni-Valley
Prof. Gyan Baffour Minister of Planning Wenchi constituency
Michael Yaw Gyato Deputy Oti Regional Minister Krachi East
Frank Adongo Deputy Upper East Region Minster Zebilla Constituency
Tangoba Abayage Upper East Regional Minister Navrongo Constituency
Kofi Dzamesi Minister for Chieftaincy Ketu North
Anthony Karbo Deputy Minister for Roads and Highway Lawra
Prof. Kwesi Yankah Minister of State-in-charge of tertiary education Agona East
Kofi Amoakohene Bono East Regional Minister Atebubu-Amanten
Francis Kingsley Ato Codjoe Deputy Minister Fisheries Ekumfi
Siaka Stephens Deputy Bono Regional Minister Jaman North
Yaw Afful Deputy Aviation Minister Jaman South
Alexander Abban Deputy Communication Minister Gomoah West


Two others, the Upper East Regional Minister, Paulina Abayage, and Kofi Dzamesi, Minister for Chieftaincy who has been contesting the Ketu South parliamentary seat since 1996 without success was vanquished again.

Eight out of the 19 Ministers are from the Greater Accra Region and the Central Region where the main opposition National Democratic Congress unseated the Ministers.

Three are from the Upper East regions and two from the Western region. There was one apiece from the Volta, Upper West, and Oti regions.

Three  each from the Bono and Bono East Regions

The list includes first-term MPs George Andah, Francis Kingsley Ato Codjoe, Barbara Ayisi, Paul Essien, Elizabeth Afoley Quaye, Benard Okoe-Boye, Micheal Gyato, Anthony Karbo, and Barbara Oteng Gyasi.

In what appears to be a referendum on MPs who have to split time between their constituencies and their ministries portfolios, three other experienced hands; Boniface Abubakar Saddque, Joseph Dindiok Kpemka, and Derek Oduro have lost their seats.

The electorates appear to say ‘give us our seat and take your appointment’.

Ghanaians have always expressed concerns about the scores of ministers cum MPs who find little time for the constituents but spend more time on their executive job.

Not many expected such an incursion of losses in Akufo-Addo’s government.

But it happened.

The president should he win will be forced to look for another set of MPs to meet the constitutional requirement that stipulates that the majority of ministers must come from parliament.

In a ministry such as the Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs Ministry, none of the two political heads will be going to Parliament after the minister and his deputy both contested for seats in NDC strongholds.

Despite the losses, President Nana Akufo-Addo’s 17-member cabinet remains largely untouched as many triumphed in their respective parliamentary races.

The Tourism Minister, Barbara Oteng-Gyasi, is the only cabinet minister to have lost her seat. The Energy Minister, Peter John Amewu, on the other hand, is the cabinet minister who has now become an MP after a shocking victory in an NDC stronghold, Hohoe constituency of the Volta region.


The story is being updated…..



Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You might also like