Doreen Hammond wins GJA/PAV Ansah Journalist of the Year award

Source The Ghana Report

The Editor of the Junior Graphic, Doreen Hammond, on Saturday emerged winner of the coveted PAV Ansah Journalist of the Year Award.

Hammond also won the Best Columnist of the Columnist of the Year award at the Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) awards.

Before rising to become the Editor of the Junior Graphic in September 2019, Hammond was the Features Editor of the Daily Graphic newspaper, a position she held since 2008.

From April 2019, she was appointed acting Editor of the Junior Graphic newspaper in addition to her regular schedule.

On a glitzy night when fashion , food, music and speeches flowed, the GCGL took its dominance of the annual awards to another level by sweeping 12 awards.

Hammond became the fifth  female to win the Journalist of the Year Award following the foot prints of  Ms Peggy Ama Donkor of the Ghana Broadcasting Corporation, Ms Elizabeth Ohene (Daily Graphic) and Ajoa Afari-Yeboah (The Mirror) —both veteran journalists and Mabel Aku Baneseh.

GHOne’s Alice Aryeetey picked two awards on the night of honour for journalists

The night’s winners are as follows :

  • Doreen Hammond (Graphic) – Best Journalist for the Year 2018
  • Doreen Hammond(Daily Graphic) – Best Columnist 
  • Rebecca Kwei(Daily Graphic) – Best HIV/AIDS Reporter
  • Maxwell Akalaare Adombilla(Graphic Business) – Best Economic and Financial Reporter (Print)
  • Nana Konadu Agyeman(Daily Graphic) – Best Transport and Road Safety Reporter (Print)
  • Moses Dotse Aklorbortu(Graphic Business) – Best Oil and Gas Reporter 
  • Maclean Kwofi(Graphic Business) – Best Maritme Reporter (Print)
  • Kester Aburam Kuranchie(Graphic Business) – Best Investigative Reporter 
  • Edmund Smith-Asante(Daily Graphic) – Best Tourism Reporter (Print)
  • Charles Andoh(The Mirror) – Best Education Reporter (Print) 
  • Charles Benoni Okine(Graphic Business) – Best Telecommunication Reporter (Print) 
  • Daily Graphic– Best Newspaper
  • Citi Breakfast Show– Best Morning Show (English)
  • Citi FM– Best Radio Station (English)
  • Samuel A. Akapule(Ghanaian Times) – Best Rural Reporter
  • Kingsley Hope(Ghanaian Times) – Best Sports Reporter (Print) 
  • John Vigah(Ghanaian Times) – Best Feature Writer (Print)
  • Geoffrey Buta(The Spectator) – Best Photo Journalist 
  • Alberto Mario Noretti(Ghanaian Times) – Best Small and Medium Scale Reporter (Print)
  • Abigail Annor(Ghanaian Times) – Best News Reporter (Print) 
  • Kwaku Osei Bonsu(GNA) – Winner of Dr G.T. Anim Award for Ethics in Journalism 
  • Prosper Kuorsoh(GNA) – Best Agric Reporter (Print) 
  • Albert Futukpor(GNA) Best Water, Sanitation and Hygiene Reporter (Online)
  • Albert Oppong Andah(GNA) – Best Environment Reporter (Electronic)
  • A.B. Kafui Kanyi(GNA) – Best Child Protection and Participation (Electronic) 
  • GNA– Best Online News 
  • Janet Abena Quainoo(GTV) – Best Rural Reporter (Electronic)
  • Ibrahim Oppong Boateng(GTV) – Best Court and Crime Reporter
  • Clara Mlano(GTV) – Best Reporter in Illegal Mining (Galamsey)
  • GTV– Best Democracy and Peace Building Television Station
  • GTV– Best Radio and TV Programme in Ga, Ewe 
  • Portia Gabor(TV3) – Best Female Journalist
  • Portia Gabor(TV3) – Best Transport Ans Road Safety (Electronic)
  • Peter Quao Adator(TV3) – Best Sports Reporter (Electronic)
  • Evelyn Tengmaa(TV3) – Best Political Reporter
  • TV3’s New Day– Best Television Morning Show (English)
  • Ina Thalia Quansah(Joy News/Radio Maxx) – Most Promising Journalist 
  • Seth Kwame Boateng(Joy News) – Best Human Rights Reporter
  • Seth Kwame Boateng(Joy News) Best in Features (TV) 
  • Justice Baidoo(Joy News) – Best Telecommunication (Electronic)
  • Beryl Ernestina Richter(Joy News) – Best Health Reporter (TV)
  • Nabil Ahmed Rufai(GHOne TV) – Best Education Reporter (Electronic)
  • Alice Aryeetey(GHOne TV) –
  • Alice Aryeetey(GHOne TV) – Best TV News Reporter
  • GHOne TV– Best Television Station (English)
  • Kofi Amoah(TV Africa) – Best Reporter in Disability
  • Grace Nana Esi(Oman FM) – Best Maritime Reporter (Electronic)
  • Adu Gyamfi Marfo(Kingdom FM) – Child Protection and Participation (Radio)
  • Kabu Nartey(GIJ) – Best Student Journalist 
  • Anim Addo (UTV) – Best Agric Reporter (TV)
  • UTV’s Heritage Ghana– Best TV Programme in Akan
  • Peace FM’s Kookrokoo– Best Morning Show (Akan)
  • UTV– Best Television Station (Akan)
  • Peace FM– Best Radio Station (Akan)
  • Di Asa on Atinka TV– Best Arts and Entertainment Programme 
  • Best Regional FM Stations– West End Radio, Bright FM, Radio Savannah, URA Radio, Radio Upper West, Space FM, Classic FM, Hello FM, Swiss FM.
Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You might also like
where to buy viagra buy generic 100mg viagra online
buy amoxicillin online can you buy amoxicillin over the counter
buy ivermectin online buy ivermectin for humans
viagra before and after photos how long does viagra last
buy viagra online where can i buy viagra