Gov’t suspends consular services to all coronavirus-hit countries

Government has announced a temporary suspension of consular services rendered by its embassies and high commissions in countries affected by the deadly coronavirus.

In an interview with Accra-based Citi FM and monitored by theghanareport.com, the Deputy Minister for Foreign Affairs, Charles Owiredu, emphasised the need to reduce human contact which facilitates the spread of the virus.

“Since these countries are under total lockdown it would be difficult to even go to work and perform any activity so Ghana’s mission in these affected countries sort to create some skeletal staff in these embassies. And so far the response has been good,” he said.

He explained, “once you are a Ghanaian, in Italy, and you want any consular service, all you need to do is call the emergency contact provided on the mission’s official website or send the document via mail and the mission will see to it and respond accordingly.”

He further said Ghana’s mission is also in talks with its neighbouring countries, Togo, Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast, who have recently joined the list of affected countries.

Meanwhile, the coronavirus is fast spreading across the world as 105 countries have so far recorded infections of the virus.

Formally known as COVID-19, the virus has so far infected over 118, 000 people and killed more than 4,600.

Italy, the centre of the outbreak in Europe, has so far recorded 10,149 cases with 630 dead, as of Wednesday, while France has 1,784 cases of infected persons and 33 deaths.

Countries such as the Czech Republic, Scotland and the Dominican Republic have confirmed first cases.

In Africa, the disease has hit 10 countries—Nigeria, Togo, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Senegal, South Africa, Tunisia, Egypt, Algeria, and Morocco.

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You might also like