It’s 20:20 as NPP, NDC send 40 female MPs to Parliament

As Ghana’s gender activists clamour for more female representation in Ghana’s Parliament, Ghanaian electorates responded, albeit marginal.

A total of 40 women, including 16 first term and 25 retained female lawmakers will be part of Ghana’s next Parliament.

The 2020 female victors will be three more than the 2016 figure–37. However, for the first time in Ghana’s history, the two leading parties have elected the same number of women to Parliament.

The 40 were among  126 candidates who contested the elections. The newly elected female MPs are just 15% of the 275 new legislators who will be sworn-in on the midnight of January 6, next year.

With the regional breakdown; Greater Accra has the highest with 15, followed by Central, 5; Ashanti, 5; Volta, 4; Eastern, 3; Upper East, 2; Ahafo, Oti, North East, Savannah, Western and Bono East regions have one representative each.

Notable among the new faces are Shiela Bartels of Ablekuma North (NPP), Dakoa Newman of Okaikwei South (NPP), Abla Dzifa Gomashie of Keth South (NDC) and Gizella Tetteh Abgotui of Awutu Senya West (NDC).

READ: Only 5.8% of all 1,610 MPs elected since 1992 are women

The 2016 elections

In the 2016 election, out of 1,158 aspirants who contested for parliamentary seats, 136 were women. That is only 11.7%.

Of the 136 female candidates, 40 were from the NDC and 29 from the NPP; the remaining 67 were from smaller parties or were independent candidates.

Out of the 136, only 37 won, 13  from the NDC, and 24 from the NPP.

Theghanareport.com brings you a breakdown of the 2020 representation

1. Abla Dzifa Gomashie Ketu South NDC First
2. Adelaide Ntim Nsuta Kwaman Beposo NPP First
3. Akanvariba Lamisi Lydia Tempane NDC First
4. Elizabeth Ofosu Adjare Techiman North NDC First
5. Dorcas Affo-Toffey Jomoro NDC First
6. Shiela Bartels Ablekuma North NPP First
7. Rita Naa Odorley Sowah La Dadekotopon NDC First
8. Theresa Lardi Awuni Okaikwei North NDC First
9. Dokoa Newman Okaikwei South NPP First
10. Agnes Naa Momo Lartey Krowor NDC First
11. Gizella Tetteh-Agbotui Awutu Senya West NDC First
12. Ophelia Kwansah Hayford Mfansteman NPP First
13. Gifty Twum Ampofo Abuakwa North NPP Third
14. Abena Osei-Asare Atiwa West NPP Second
15. Laadi Ayii Ayamba Pusiga NDC Third
16. Ursula Owusu-Ekuful Ablekuma West NPP Third
17. Zanetor Agyeman Rawlings Klottey Korle NDC Second
18. Hajia Lariba Zuwera Abudu Walewale NPP First
19. Oheneba Dokua Asiamah-Adjei Akropong NPP Second
20. Freda Prempeh Tano North NPP Third
21. Mavis Nkansah Boadu Afigya Sekyere East NPP Second
22. Patricia Apiagyei Asokwa NPP Third
23. Ama Pomaa Boateng Juaben NPP Third
24. Francisca Oteng Mensah Kwabre East NPP Second
25. Queenstar Pokua Sawyer Agona East NDC Third
26. Cynthia Mamle Morrison Agona West NPP Second
27. Naana Eyiah Quansah Gomoa Central NPP Second
28. Comfort Doyoe Cudjoe-Ghansah Ada NDC Third
29. Lydia Alhassan Ayawaso West Wuogon NPP Second
30. Sarah Adwoa Safo Dome Kwabenya NPP Third
31. Sophia Karen Edem Ackuaku Domeabra Obom NDC Second
32. Theresa Lardi Awuni Okaikwei North NDC First
33. Linda Obenewaa Akweley Ocloo Shai Osudoku NDC Second
34. Tina Gifty Naa Ayeley Mensah Weija NPP Second
35. Helen Adjoa Ntoso Krachi West NDC Third
36. Angela Oforiwaa Alorwu – Tay Afadjato South NDC Second
37.  Joycelyn Tetteh North Dayi NDC Second
38. Mavis Hawa Koomaon Awutu Senya East NPP Third
39. Adjoa Della Sowah Kpando NDC Third
40. Zuwera Mohammed Ibrahimah Salaga South NDC First


Despite these gains, significant obstacles remain for women seeking elective office. Although Ghana’s constitution mandates that all appointed and elected bodies do not discriminate against women, very few women occupy elected office in the country.

In a country in which politics is male-dominated, cultural, economic, and political factors discourage women from participating in the nation’s electoral process. These factors include inadequate support from political parties (particularly in the primaries), a lack of financial resources and gender stereotyping.

In the first two years of his presidency, Nana Akufo-Addo made commitments to the passage of an Affirmative Action Bill in his State of the Nation Addresses.

But two years down the line, the bill is still in Parliament less than 25 days to the end of the tenure of this Parliament.

Parliament will resume on December 14.


Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You might also like