NPP parliamentary primaries: 25 MPs going unopposed

Source The Ghana Report

The governing New Patriotic Party(NPP) has scheduled January 27, 2023, for delegates to elect parliamentary candidates to represent the party in various constituencies ahead of the general elections in December.

The party has already selected parliamentary candidates in constituencies where it does not have sitting MPs, known as orphan constituencies.

Currently, the New Patriotic Party (NPP) has cleared 326 parliamentary aspirants for the January 27, 2024 primaries to elect its parliamentary candidates in constituencies where the party has sitting Members of Parliament (MPs).

Out of the total number of 373 aspirants, who filed to contest the primaries, after vetting, 29 are going unopposed, 11 were disqualified, two were referred to the National Executive Committee (NEC), two stepped down, one incomplete form and two did not show up for vetting leaving the qualified aspirants for the primaries at 326.

Below is the regional breakdown of the MPs not being contested:

Greater Accra Region:
Patrick Yaw Boamah – Okaikoi Central MP

Lydia Seyram Alhassan – Ayawaso West Wuogon MP

Dakoa Newman – Okaikwei South MP

Savannah Region
Samuel Abu Jinapor – Damongo MP

Upper West Region
Dr Bright Yelviedong Baligi – Lambussie MP
Ambrose Dery – Nandom MP

Northern Region
Alhassan Sulemana Tampuli – Gushegu MP
Alhaji Iddrisu Habib – Tolon MP
Mohammed Amin Adam – Karaga MP
Thomas Mbomba – Tatale/Sanguli MP

Eastern Region
Dr. Bryan Yaw Acheampong – Abetifi MP

Michael Okyere Baafi – New Juaben South MP

Frederick Obeng Adom – Upper West Akyem MP

Western North
Alex Tetteh Djornobuah – Akontombra MP

Bono East
Martin Kwaku Adjei-Mensah Korsah – Techiman South MP

Bono Region
Paul Apreku Twum-Barimah – Dormaa East MP

Ahafo Region
Dr Benjamin Yeboah Sekyere – Tano South MP

Central Region
Rev. John Ntim Fordjour – Assin South MP
Dr Festus Awuah Kwofie – Upper Denkyira East MP

Ashanti Region
Dr Yaw Osei Adutwum – Bosomtwe MP
Frederick Obeng Adom – Upper West Akyem MP
Dr John Ampontuah Kumah – Ejisu MP
Dr Nana Ayew Afriyie – Effiduase MP
Isaac Yaw Opoku – Offinso South MP
Alex Blankson – Akrofuom MP

It is the focus of the NPP to break the eight-year cycle of power in the 2024 general elections.

Therefore, the 2024 flagbearer of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, has called on all supporters of the party to work very hard to make their dream a reality.

However, the opposition National Democratic Congress(NDC) is very optimistic that the NPP will lose the 2024 general election due to the mismanagement of the economy.

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You might also like
where to buy viagra buy generic 100mg viagra online
buy amoxicillin online can you buy amoxicillin over the counter
buy ivermectin online buy ivermectin for humans
viagra before and after photos how long does viagra last
buy viagra online where can i buy viagra