NPP Race: Asenso-Boakye wins Bantama

Source The Ghana Report

Member of Parliament (MP) for the Bantama constituency in the Ashanti Region, Francis Asenso-Boakye, has beaten Ralph Agyapong in the New Patriotic Party (NPP) parliamentary primary.

He won the contest with 650 votes, representing 78.22%.

His closest contender, Ralph Agyapong, a lawyer and sibling of the outspoken politician Kennedy Ohene Agyapong, garnered 130 votes, representing 21.78 %.

Mr Agyapong entered the electoral fray with a determined effort to displace Mr Asenso-Boakye, who sought re-election for a second term, but that could not materialize.

Speaking at the voting grounds following his victory, the Works and Housing Minister said he was thankful to delegates for helping him secure a resounding victory in parliament.

“I want to pledge my commitment to a one united NPP that will rally behind Dr Mahamudu Bawumia for the big battle in 2024. Today, we have made history in Bantama. I am the only MP who has survived a re-election challenge,” he said.

Mr Asenso Boakye added, “So we are going into this election knowing very well that Ghanaians need NPP for Ghana to be successful.”

In the Ablekuma West constituency, incumbent MP and Minister for Communications Ursula Owusu-Ekuful won the primary with 817 votes, beating her contender Roni Paa Kwesi Nicol, who polled 241. Twenty votes were rejected.

Meanwhile, Greater Accra Regional Minister Henry Quartey won the Ayawaso Central Constituency parliamentary primary. He polled 594 votes, while Moses Abor came close with 326 votes with four rejected votes.

Majority Chief Whip Frank Annoh-Dompreh won the parliamentary primary for Nsawam Adoagyiri Constituency. He polled 734 votes, while the CEO of the Ghana Library Authority, Hayford Siaw, polled 228 votes.

In Atiwa East, Deputy Finance Minister Abena Osei-Asare polled 288 votes to win the parliamentary primary for the constituency. Dr Banning polled 11 votes, Eric Agyarko had 67 votes, and Adade Wiredu polled 44.

Sylvester Tetteh also won the Bortianor Ngleshie Amafrom parliamentary primary.

He polled 590 votes, Vida Agyekum Acheampong polled 461, and Eric Kojo Kuranchie had 34 votes.

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You might also like
where to buy viagra buy generic 100mg viagra online
buy amoxicillin online can you buy amoxicillin over the counter
buy ivermectin online buy ivermectin for humans
viagra before and after photos how long does viagra last
buy viagra online where can i buy viagra