Parliament approves regional ministers

Parliament has approved the ministerial nominations for the 16 regions.

President Akuf-Addo’s nominations were approved by consensus after the Appointments Committee submitted its report to the House.

The committee recommended the approval in their report and the House gave a green light for their swearing-in ceremony.

President Akufo-Addo is expected to swear them into office to officially mark the beginning of their responsibilities.

The first batch of 13 ministerial nominees has been inducted into office.

The Minority in Parliament had concerns against Godfred Dame, John Peter Amewu, Ursula Owusu-Ekuful, Kwasi Amoako Atta and Kwaku Agyeman-Manu.

While 10 were approved by consensus, three were approved by a majority vote on the floor of the House after extensive debate.

At the end of the polls, 265 total votes were cast.

Mavis Hawa Kooomson got approved by 161 YES votes to 104 NO votes, Kojo Oppong Nkrumah got approved by 155 YES votes to 110 NO votes and Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto got approved by 143 YES votes to 121 NO votes.

The regional ministers approved are:

  • Ashanti – Simon Osei Mensah
  • Greater Accra – Henry Quartey
  • Ahafo – George Boakye
  • Bono – Justina Owusu-Banahene
  • Bono East – Adu Gyan
  • Central – Justina Marigold Assan
  • Eastern – Seth Acheampong
  • Northern – Shani Alhassan Saibu
  • North East – Yidana Zakaria
  • Oti – Joseph Makubu
  • Savannah – Saeed Muhazu Jibril
  • Upper East – Stephen Yakubu
  • Western North – Richard Obeng
  • Upper West – Hafiz bin Salih
  • Western – Kwabena Okyere Darko Mensah
  • Volta – Dr Archibald Yao Letsa
Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You might also like
where to buy viagra buy generic 100mg viagra online
buy amoxicillin online can you buy amoxicillin over the counter
buy ivermectin online buy ivermectin for humans
viagra before and after photos how long does viagra last
buy viagra online where can i buy viagra