Here are 6 ‘most vocal’ MPs in 2019 who won’t be part of the new Parliament

Theghanareport.com’s political desk followed the work of Members of Parliament keenly and brought you the top 10 most vocal MPs in April 2020.

Your informative website has compiled a list of those vocal MPs who lost their seats during the NPP and NDC parliamentary primaries.

None of them lost their seats in the parliamentary elections on December 7, 2020.

Only four would, however, be sworn into office on January 7.

READ ALSO: SPECIAL REPORT: Here Are The Top 10 Most Vocal MPs In 2019

The following will not be representing their constituent in the next parliament.

1.Ben Abdallah Banda – NPP MP for Offinso South

The NPP MP spoke 848 times in 2019 and delivered two statements in Parliament.

The high frequency of his contributions can be generally attributed to his position as chairperson of the Constitutional, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs (CLPA)Committee.  He is also the chairperson of the Judicial Committee.

But Abdallah Banda lost his seat to Isaac Yaw Opoku; he lost by 307  in the NPP primaries in June 2020.

2. Mark Assibey-Yeboah – NPP MP for New Juaben South

Dr. Assibey-Yeboah has been in Parliament since 2013, after previously working at GIMPA and the Bank of Ghana.

He is the chairman of the Finance Committee; he was in the thick of affairs moving and second motions on the floor.

Assibey-Yeboah lost to Michael Okyere Baafi; he lost by 172 in the NPP’s primaries in June last year.

READ ALSO: The Top 10 First-Term MPs Who Excelled On The Floor Of Parliament

3. Frederick Opare-Ansah – NPP for Suhum

He chaired the Communication Committee in parliament; he was also a member of the Finance committee.

Opare Ansah has been in Parliament since 2004.

He lost by 122 votes to Kwadwo Asante in the NPP primaries.


READ ALSO: Here Are The Top 10 Most Vocal Female MPs In 2019

4. William Quaittoo Agyapong – NPP MP for Akim Oda

He is the chairperson of the Education Committee of Parliament. He lost by 46 votes to Alexander Akwasi Acquah in the NPP primaries.

He was compelled to resign as a Deputy Minister of Agriculture because of an ethnocentric comment he was alleged to have made against northerners.


5. Joseph Yieleh Chireh – NDC MP for Wa West

The Pharmacist has been in Parliament since 2005 and is a member of three committees. The former minister under the Mahama administration found a lot of time for Parliament in 2019. Still, he lost the primaries to Executive Secretary to the former Inspector General of Police, Peter Lanchene Tuubo.

He lost by 438 votes in the NDC primaries in 2019.


6. Anthony Osei Akoto – NPP MP for Old Tafo

The Howard university-trained economist doubles as the Minister of State for Monitoring and Evaluation.

He has been in Parliament since 2005. He did not contest the 2020 primaries.

Meanwhile, four MPs in the list of the Top 10 most vocal legislators have been re-elected.

They are:

  • Alexander Afenyo- Markin –  NPP MP for Effutu
  • Bernard Ahiafor – NDC MP for Akatsi South
  • Kwame Governs Agbodza – NDC MP for Adaklu
  • Alhassan Bashir A. Fuseini – NDC MP for Sagnarigu
Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You might also like