NPP charges winners in orphan constituencies to prioritize unity and deliver victory in 2024

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) has called on newly elected parliamentary candidates in orphan constituencies to prioritize the unity of the party and work towards achieving victory in the 2024 general election.

The Director of Communications for the governing party, Richard Ahiagbah, speaking in an interview on the outcome of the polls, acknowledged the election officials for a peaceful process and urged the winners to work hard to achieve victory for the task ahead in 2024.

“The primaries have gone very well, peaceful, transparent, and the results have not been contested by anyone, and the process was fair. So we have resolved to ensure that the January 20 upcoming primaries for constituencies where we have MPs will go well and peacefully as this has gone, but the key thing we want to emphasize is that the peace that characterised this election will also translate into the respective constituencies closing their ranks and working to deliver us victory,” Mr. Ahiagbah noted in an interview monitored by The Ghana Report on Citi FM.

Moreover, Mr. Ahiagbah revealed that the party would provide the winners with the necessary support in their campaigns.

Meanwhile, the Greater Accra regional chairman of the party, in a press statement, also assured that the regional chapter is committed to working toward unifying the party ahead of the general elections in 2024.

On Saturday, December 2, 2023, the NPP went to the polls to elect parliamentary candidates for the 2024 general election in constituencies where the party has no members of parliament (MP), also referred to as orphan constituencies.

The elections took place in 111 constituencies across the 16 regions, with a total of 321 aspirants vying for a single slot in the constituencies where the elections were held.

The polls resulted in individuals such as Dr. Bernard Oko Boye being elected as the NPP’s parliamentary candidate for the Ledzokuku constituency, which he lost in the 2020 elections.

Akosua Manu, the Deputy CEO of the National Youth Authority, won the Adentan primary, and her boss, Pius Enam Hadzide, emerged victorious in the Asuogyaman constituency.

The Deputy Minister of Tourism, Arts, and Culture, Mark Okraku Mantey, who has been eyeing the  Ayensuano Constituency lost the bid to Ida Adjoa Asiedu a renowned businesswoman in the constituency.

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You might also like